My Missing Countries/ Sites List

Complete List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites - Missing and Received can be seen HERE

Thursday, August 14, 2014

India - Western Ghats

"Older than the Himalaya mountains, the mountain chain of the Western Ghats represents geomorphic features of immense importance with unique biophysical and ecological processes. The site’s high montane forest ecosystems influence the Indian monsoon weather pattern. Moderating the tropical climate of the region, it presents one of the best examples of the monsoon system in the planet. The site also has an exceptionally high level of biological diversity and endemism. It is recognized as one of the world’s eight “hottest hotspots” of biological diversity. The forests of the site include some of the best representatives of non-equatorial tropical evergreen forests anywhere and are home to at least 325 globally threatened flora, fauna, bird, amphibian, reptile and fish species." 
Source: UNESCO World Heritage

There are 39 sites over 4 states.

Kerala has 19 inscribed sites of two national parks (Silent Valley and Eravikulam), five wildlife sanctuaries (Shendurney, Neyyar, Peppara, Chinnar, and Aralam), Periyar Tiger Reserve, four forest ranges (Kulathupuzha, Palode, Mankulam, and Kalikavu), three forest divisions (Ranni, Konni, and Achencoil), two reserve forests (New Amarambalam and Attappady), and two shola forests (Karian shola and Mannavan shola).

Karnataka has 10 sites - Kudremukh National Park, four wildlife sanctuaries (Someshwara, Pushpagiri, Brahmagiri, and Talacauvery), and five reserve forests (Padinalknad, Kerti, Someshwara, Agumbe, and Balahalli).

Tamil Nadu has six sites: three national parks (Grass Hills, Karian Shola, and Mukurti), Kalakad-Mundanthurai Tiger Reserve, Srivilliputtur Wildlife Sanctuary, and Tirunelveli (North) forest division.

Maharashtra has 4 sites: Kas Plateau, Koyna Wildlife Sanctuary, Chandoli National Park, and Radhanagari Wildlife Sanctuary. 


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...