My Missing Countries/ Sites List

Complete List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites - Missing and Received can be seen HERE

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Japan - Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto (Kyoto, Uji and Otsu Cities)

"Built in A.D. 794 on the model of the capitals of ancient China, Kyoto was the imperial capital of Japan from its foundation until the middle of the 19th century. As the centre of Japanese culture for more than 1,000 years, Kyoto illustrates the development of Japanese wooden architecture, particularly religious architecture, and the art of Japanese gardens, which has influenced landscape gardening the world over." 

Source: UNESCO World Heritage

Below is the list of UNESCO WHS 13 Buddhist temples, 3 Shinto shrines and 1 Castle in Kyoto, Uji and Otsu:

1) Kiyomizudera Temple
2) Kinkakuji - Rokuonji Temple
3) Ginkakuji - Jishoji Temple
4) Ryoanji Temple
5) Hongwanji Temple
6) Nijo Castle
7) Ninnaji Temple
8) Toji - Kyoogokokuji Temple
9) Kamigamo - Kamowakeikazuchi Jinja
10) Shimogamo - Kamomioya Jinja
11) Daigoji Temple
12) Kozanji Temple
13) Kokedera - Saihoji Temple
14) Tenryuji Temple

15) Byodoin Temple
16) Ujigami Jinja

17) Enryakuji Temple


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...