My Missing Countries/ Sites List

Complete List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites - Missing and Received can be seen HERE

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Tanzania - Kilimanjaro National Park

"At 5,895 m, Kilimanjaro is the highest point in Africa. This volcanic massif stands in splendid isolation above the surrounding plains, with its snowy peak looming over the savannah. The mountain is encircled by mountain forest. Numerous mammals, many of them endangered species, live in the park." 

Source: UNESCO World Heritage

Postcard # 1
Mount Kilimajaro National Park is one of the seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites in United Republic of Tanzania. It is also the highest mountain in the African continent with a height of 5,895 ms above sea level.  
Mount Kilimanjaro is one of the largest volcanoes in the world. Kibo, Mawenzi and Shira are its three volcanic peaks. With its snow-capped peak and glaciers, it is the highest mountain in Africa. The mountain has five main vegetation zones from the lowest to the highest point: Lower slopes, montane forest, heath and moorland, alpine desert and summit. The whole mountain including the montane forest belt is very rich in species, in particular mammals, many of them endangered species. For this combination of features but mostly its height, its physical form and snow cap and its isolation above the surrounding plains, Mount Kilimanjaro is considered an outstanding example of a superlative natural phenomenon.
The stamps used on the postcard were as follows:-

Thanks a lot Yue for such a lovely addition in my UNESCO collection.


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...